Fun Weekend with the Family!

Another fun weekend with the family! This time at Disney for the Star Wars Weekend. My oldest son is 3 and turning into a huge Star Wars fan so we made the trek to Disney’s Hollywood Studios for their yearly Star Wars Weekend. It lasts for a couple weekends from May thru the first part of June. It was great and we had a blast. We got to see everybody from Darth Vader to C3PO and everyone in between. Obvious exceptions were Han Solo, Luke, etc. Lots of Storm Troopers walking around and we got a few good pics. Every time we tried to get a picture with Darth Vader the line was closed, so my little guy was a little bummed out.

Otherwise we had a pretty good time. We hit up Universal and did his favorite ride over there, ET.

All in all we had a great time. Once again, spending time with the family is really what it’s all about. Doesn’t matter what you do or where you do it as long as you’re with your family. My New Year’s resolution wasn’t to spend more time with my family but it probably should have been. It’s the only thing I’ve really been serious about this year.

It’s funny how things work out. I’ve been fairly unhappy with how management has been running things lately and my response has been to cut back on work. If I’m not happy there then I should spend less time there. Makes sense to me. But the other side of that has been that I’ve been spending more time with my family. My wife said that the last couple of months have been some of the best of our marriage. We went out on two dates in May. That may not seem like a lot of dates to most, but I work A LOT and that’s huge for us.

Because I’m cutting back on work my wife sort of got her husband back. For anyone out there reading this that may feel like they have to work 60 or 70+ hours a week to keep things rolling (maybe you do) you should try taking some time to yourself. For your family if for no other reason. It’s the best thing that I could have done and I only did it because I was unhappy (still am) with the way my company is running things. Sometimes you can’t see the forest for the trees and that was my problem.

I thought I was being a good provider by never being home and always working. Not the case. If you have a family and you’re always working somebody is missing you. A lot. Don’t miss your life.

Leave a Reply

